STAR mostly has my vote

I just thought I would share my most recent thoughts about voting theory and about the voting systems I’ve had the opportunity to learn about over these past many months. Hopefully I will be able to illustrate any amount of understanding I have been able to develop for myself, and to outline my own journeying about this very intriguing topic so far. I am not an expert, but I think that it may be of interest even to those who are experts to hear what a novice like myself has been able to gather, and what areas I remain skeptical about, and perhaps why.

My interest in voting theory began when it hit me, as I was contemplating the very poor quality of our representation, how absurd the plurality system we have in place now truly is. I felt that there must have been somebody or some group some time in the past who had long ago figured out a better way to organize a democracy so that the public would have the capability to functionally and truly hold their representatives accountable. I started to learn about ordinal systems and Arrow’s theorem, and purchased a textbook on voting theory called “Economics and Computation.” Through that textbook and various online lectures, I was introduced to a swathe of different voting systems, and eventually I found this forum, where I have had the pleasure to discuss some of my own thoughts and to engage in the thoughts of other very insightful voting theory enthusiasts. It became more and more apparent to me that the problem of voting systems is much more intricate and difficult than any superficial conception might suggest.