Youtube video in favor of approval voting gets 1.1 Million views in 1 week

It’s not a bad video either.

2 Likes

The video is guilty of 5 fallacies, which I list in order of appearance:

1. The issue-space voter model
  2. IRV as more incentive-compatible than Plurality
  3. An “honest” approval threshold that is independent of what other voters are expected to do
  4. Dichotomous preferences
  5. The idea that the strategic approval vote is a bullet vote for one’s favorite member of the top cycle

(1), (2) and (3) are forgivable, given that they are popular myths and the video is meant for a popular audience. But (4) and (5) are the narrator’s own contribution, so I’m not sure the video is as informative as it is deceptive.

This is the kind of thing we need more of. I’ve been meaning to make something very much like this, with a 2D plane, except showing more pathologies and more systems, but I am not good at following through on things.

For example, T2R dealing with vote-splitting:

vs T2R failing from vote-splitting:

1 Like

In what way is #1 a fallacy? The spatial model is the most correct model of real-life voter behavior.

1 Like

I think the modeling is fairly reasonable as a good approximation to observable behavior. Any simulation can be improved but you need to make some assumptions, and modeling assumptions are not fallacies. I think it’s more questionable to think that this kind of model doesn’t give us a lot of useful information.

Just as an example, it’s totally unreasonable to think that the wavefunction of an electron in an atomic orbital is independent of time, but it makes for a very good model where chemistry is concerned.